Bulgaria is located in Southeastern Europe and is situated on the east part of the Balkan Peninsula. There are four seasons in the country, which are a real treasure for the people. Let’s begin with the high snowy mountains, which beauty has to be seen in the winter. You don’t have to go to the Alpes on holiday to have a good time. The winter resorts in Bulgaria – Bansko, Pamporovo, Borovets, offer great conditions for entertainment such as skiing, snowboarding, sleighing and skating. And during the summer? What is better than a holiday on the seaside? The entire eastern border of Bulgaria has an outlet on the Black sea. The coastline here, which is all together 354 kilometers, is popular for the many towns, summer resorts and beautiful beaches. After all, here is one of the best beaches in Europe – the one in Albena. It is different for the fact that it is longer than 3,5 kilometers, its width is 150 meters and the sand which is silky. And the nice temperatures during spring and autumn are suitable for hiking in the mountains, woods and around the rivers in Bulgaria. You can also see the oldest gold treasure in the world, which is found near the city of Varna and enjoy the smell of the famous roses in Kazanlak.Everyone say that in Bulgaria they see love, because of the beauty of the nature, which can never be seen anywhere else. This is a small country, which has great potential and not bad tax policy. Here VAT is variating from 9% to 20%. Profit tax is 10% and property tax for a house with a yard that is about 1decare near a big city is 20-30 euros a year. Invest here! Bulgaria will help you, and you will contribute to its development.

Useful information

1. COUNTRY PROFILE: Bulgaria is located in the south-eastern part of Europe Surface: 110,994 sq km Population: 7 million Borders: To the north with Romania To the south with Greece and Turkey To the west with Serbia and Macedonia To the east with the Black Sea Capital: Sofia, located in the west of the country at 550m above sea level, at the foot of Mount Vitosha Official language: Bulgarian Alphabet: Cyrillic Religion: Eastern Orthodox Christians (85%), Muslims (13%), Catholics (1%) Currency: Bulgarian lev (fixed exchange rate with the EURO: BGN 1 = EUR 0.51129

2. HOLIDAYS: January 1: New Year’s Day March 3: National Liberation Day of Bulgaria from Ottoman rule May 1: Labor Day and International Solidarity of Workers May 6: St. George’s Day, Bulgarian Army Day May 24: Bulgarian Education and Culture Day and of Slavic Scripture 6 September: Unification Day of Bulgaria 22 September: Independence Day of Bulgaria 1 November: Day of the Cultural Revival of Bulgaria (public holiday for schools) 24 December: Christmas Eve 25 and 26 December: Christmas Easter: 2 days, party with no fixed date (non-working Fridays and Mondays)

3. TERRITORIAL DIVISION: The territory of Bulgaria is divided into 2 macro regions: Northern and Southern Bulgaria (in turn divided into South-eastern, South-western and South-central), in turn made up of 6 regions which include the 28 districts, or oblasts , which make up the country.

4. TERRITORIAL SUBDIVISION: The territory of Bulgaria is divided into 2 macro regions: Northern and Southern Bulgaria (in turn divided into South-Eastern, South-Western and South-Central), in turn made up of 6 regions which include the 28 districts , or oblast, which make up the country. Proceeding from north to south, the following regions meet: North-West, which includes the oblasts of Vidin, Vratza, Lovetch, Montana and Pleven; Center-North with the oblasts of Veliko Tarnovo, Gabrovo, Razgrad, Ruse, Silistra; North-East, where the Varna, Dobrich, Targovishte and Shumen oblasts are located; South-West, containing the oblasts of Blagoevgrad, Kyustendil, Pernik, Sofia and Sofia Capitale; South Center: Kardzhali, Pazardzhik, Plovdiv, Smolyan and Haskovo; Southeast, with the oblasts of Burgas, Sliven, Stara Zagora and Yambol. South-West and South-Central Bulgaria include two regions: South-West with the oblasts of Blagoevgrad, Kyustendil, Pernik, Sofia and the capital Sofia; South-Central with the Kargiali oblasts, Pasardzhik, Plovdiv. Smolyan and Haskovo.

5. POPULATION: As of 31 December 2018, the population of Bulgaria amounted to 7 000 039 inhabitants, which corresponds to 1.4% of the EU population. The aging process of the population continues. At the end of 2018, the number of people over the age of 65 was 1,493,119, or 21.3% of the total population. Compared to 2017, the percentage of the population of this age group has increased with 0.8%, while compared to 2010 – 11%. According to statistical data for 2018, the average duration is 74 years and 9 months. In eight European countries, including Bulgaria, the percentage of the elderly population exceeds 20%.

6. ORDERING AND MANAGEMENT OF THE STATE: According to the 1991 Constitution, Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic based on the division of powers. The symbols of the Bulgarian state are the flag, the anthem, the coat of arms and the Guard of the Republic. The Bulgarian Parliament, or the National Assembly, is unicameral and is made up of 240 deputies elected for a four-year term. The delegations, the work and the purpose of the parliament are described in Chapter III of the Constitution. These include: the drafting and discussion of laws, the control of the executive power, the approval of the budget, the planning of presidential elections, the election and dismissal of the Prime Minister and, upon his proposal, of the Council of Ministers; making changes in the government, on the proposal of the Prime Minister, the declaration of war, the deployment of troops outside Bulgaria, and the ratification of international treaties and agreements. Since 2006, the National Assembly has elected the ombudsman who supports the rights and freedoms of citizens.

The Council of Ministers is composed of the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Ministers and the Ministers. It directs and conducts domestic and foreign policy in accordance with the Constitution and the laws and at the same time also guarantees public order and national security and manages the state administration and the armed forces. The 96th elected Council of Ministers is currently in power. on May 4, 2017 by the 44th National Assembly. It is a coalition between the GERB political party and the nationalist coalition “United Patriots”. The Prime Minister is Boyko Borisov. The Council of Ministers is made up of twenty Ministers in a 16: 4 ratio in favor of the political party GERB.

The President of the Republic is directly elected by the citizens for a term of 5 years with the right to only one re-election. The President is Head of State, Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces and Chairman of the National Security Advisory Council. Even if he has no legislative power or initiative, the President can present bills for review, even if Parliament can reject the veto with a simple majority vote. The President is flanked by a Vice President, who was also elected during the presidential elections. Rumen Radev is the fifth democratically elected president of Bulgaria for a five-year term starting in January 2017. He was backed as a candidate by the Bulgarian Socialist Party ( BSP)

Information taken from https://confindustriabulgaria.bg